National Municipal Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards Program

WEF announces second year of MS4 award winners at WEFTEC 2016

Six high-performing municipalities left the 89th annual Water Environment Technical Exhibition and Conference (WEFTEC® 2016) in New Orleans as recipients of this year’s National MS4 Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards.

The distinction, introduced last year to celebrate administrators of Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s) that perform beyond regulatory requirements, was awarded to the winners during WEFTEC’s annual Stormwater Congress on Sept. 27.

Separated based on the population of the communities they serve, participating municipalities were classified as either
• Phase I, consisting of medium or large cities with over 100,000 customers; or
• Phase II, covering smaller storm sewer systems outside of heavily populated urban areas.

While all entrants received gold, silver, or bronze certificates based on their level of performance in the categories of innovation and program management, three stand-out winners from each classification were chosen in each category. Two additional winners were recognized for achieving combined high scores in both assessments.

The winners of the 2nd annual National MS4 Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards are as follows:

Overall Highest Scores
Phase I –  Santa Clara Valley Urban Runoff Pollution Prevention Program, Calif.
Phase II –  Capitol Region Watershed District, Minn.

Phase I –  Jefferson Parish Environmental Affairs, La.
Phase II –  City of Auburn, Ala. 

Program Management 
Phase I –  City of Austin, Texas Watershed Protection Department
Phase II –  Kitsap County Public Works, Wash.

Developed by the Water Environment Federation (WEF; Alexandria, Va.) in cooperation with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), applications for the National MS4 Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards were reviewed by a broad steering committee of water sector experts, including representatives from WEF.

Keep an eye on the WEF website for forthcoming information about the application process for next year’s National MS4 Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards.


2015 Awards Program Information

2015 Awards Program Information

The National Municipal Stormwater and Green Infrastructure Awards program, led by the Water Environment Federation (WEF) through a cooperative agreement with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), was established to recognize high-performing regulated Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) programs. The objective of the program is to recognize high-performing, regulated Phase I and Phase II MS4 communities that meet and exceed regulatory requirements in innovative ways that are effective and cost efficient.

In response to the 2015 call for applications, WEF received eight Phase I and 22 Phase II applications in the first year of this awards program. Three winners from both Phase I and Phase II communities were selected in the categories of program management, innovation, and overall highest score.

Applications were reviewed and winners selected by a diverse steering committee that included members and volunteers from WEF’s stormwater and watershed national committees, as well as representatives from each of the following organizations: the Association of Clean Water Administrators, American Rivers, the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Society of Landscape Architects, the National Association of Clean Water Agencies, the National Association of Flood and Stormwater Management Agencies, and the Water Environment Research Foundation.

The award winners were formally announced and celebrated at the 2015 WEFTEC Stormwater Congress Luncheon on Monday, September 28 in Chicago.


Recognizing stormwater management achievements

Mark Doneux of the Capitol Region Watershed District and WEF’s Pallavi Raviprakash discuss the achievements of the US award-winning communities, including the overall winners the City of Charlotte, North Carolina and City of Fairbanks, Alaska. Read more.


Overall Highest Scores

Phase I – Charlotte Stormwater Services, Charlotte, N.C.

Phase II – City of Fairbanks, Alaska


Phase I – City of Santa Monica, Calif. and City of Tacoma, Wash.

Phase II – City of Alexandria, Va.

Program Management 

Phase I – Montgomery County Department of Environmental Protection, Md.

Phase II – Lafayette Consolidated Government, Lafayette, La.

Based on steering committee review scores, each application was categorized as a Bronze, Silver, or Gold level community within both Program Management and Innovation categories. All participants will receive certificates highlighting their level of achievement. Awards and certificates will be mailed to the winners following WEFTEC 2015.

All applicant designations are listed below:

Phase I Communities and MS4s

  Location State Program Management Innovation
City of Santa Monica Santa Monica Calif. SILVER SILVER
Montgomery County Department of Environmental Protection Rockville Md. GOLD SILVER
City of Chattanooga Chattanooga Tenn. SILVER SILVER
Sewerage and Water Board of New Orleans New Orleans La. SILVER SILVER
City of Tacoma Tacoma Wash. SILVER SILVER
Tennessee Department of Transportation Nashville Tenn. SILVER SILVER
Louisville Metropolitan Sewer District Louisville Ky. SILVER SILVER
Charlotte Stormwater Services Charlotte N.C. GOLD GOLD


Phase II Communities and MS4s

Location State Program Management Innovation
City of Mt. Juliet Mt. Juliet Tenn. SILVER BRONZE
Jefferson Parish Jefferson La. SILVER SILVER
Town of Ceredo Ceredo W.V. SILVER BRONZE
Lafayette Consolidated Government Lafayette La. GOLD SILVER
City of Springfield Springfield Ohio SILVER SILVER
Chemung County Stormwater Coalition Horseheads N.Y. SILVER SILVER
Capitol Region Watershed District St. Paul Minn. SILVER GOLD
City of Valparaiso Valparaiso Ind. GOLD SILVER
Purdue University Lafayette Ind. SILVER SILVER
City of St. Cloud St. Cloud Minn. SILVER SILVER
Metropolitan St. Louis Sewer District St. Louis Mo. SILVER SILVER
Western Michigan University Kalamazoo Mich. SILVER SILVER
South Burlington South Burlington Vt. SILVER GOLD
City of Inver Grove Heights Inver Grove Heights Minn. SILVER GOLD
St. Tammany Parish (County) Covington La. SILVER SILVER
City of Oshkosh Oshkosh Wis. SILVER SILVER
City of Tuscaloosa Tuscaloosa Ala. SILVER SILVER
City of Lenexa Lenexa Kan. SILVER SILVER
Town of Ashland Ashland Va. GOLD SILVER
City of Fairbanks Fairbanks Alaska GOLD GOLD
City of Storm Lake Storm Lake Iowa SILVER SILVER
City of Alexandria Alexandria Va. GOLD GOLD

If you have any questions, please contact or